LibGuides: The Basics of Banking: Resources

Useful Search Terms

There are several books and eBooks in our catalog that can have strategies and recommendations that fit your Personal Finance needs. You can use the keywords below to find titles on these topics in our catalog.

Banks and banking

Budgets, Personal

Checking Accounts

Financial literacy.

Finance, Personal.

Money

Regulatory

The United States Securities & Exchange Commission
The SEC's website, with regulatory information, news, and the EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) database of filings for public companies.
EMMA (Electronic Municipal Market Access)
EMMA is the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board's database for all information pertaining to municipal bonds.
FINRA
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority is dedicated to investor protection and market integrity through effective and efficient regulation of broker-dealers. Their website provides resources concerning oversight as well as investor education.
ICI
This is the National Association of U.S. Investment Companies. Here you can get statistical data on retirement plans and investors in the investment company industry as well as news releases and information on the fund industry (closed-end funds, mutual funds, ETFs etc.)
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
We aim to make consumer financial markets work for consumers, responsible providers, and the economy as a whole. We protect consumers from unfair, deceptive, or abusive practices and take action against companies that break the law. We arm people with the information, steps, and tools that they need to make smart financial decisions.
Federal Trade Comission
The FTC is a bipartisan federal agency with a unique dual mission to protect consumers and promote competition. For one hundred years, our collegial and consensus-driven agency has championed the interests of American consumers. As we begin our second century, the FTC is dedicated to advancing consumer interests while encouraging innovation and competition in our dynamic economy.
National Credit Union Administration
Created by the U.S. Congress in 1970, the National Credit Union Administration is an independent federal agency that insures deposits at federally insured credit unions, protects the members who own credit unions, and charters and regulates federal credit unions.

Video

Online Resources with Remote Access

All of these resources can be accessed from home using your Brooklyn Public Library card and your 4 digit PIN. Either follow these links or go to https://www.bklynlibrary.org/online-resources/list to see the full list of our resources.

Weiss Financial Ratings This link opens in a new window
Check out Weiss Safety Ratings on banks and credit unions. These ratings are designed to help consumers find the best institutions to entrust with their savings and retirement money. The higher the rating, the more likely the institution will remain financially stable or strong in good times or bad. Weiss also contains a series of Financial Literacy Basics eBooks, including "What to Know About Checking Accounts".
ABI Inform This link opens in a new window
Access ABI/INFORM to search the business press for current news, trends, and research about individual banks and the banking industry. ABI/Inform contains articles from business publications including Wall Street Journal and Barron's.
Wall Street Journal Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
Scanned images of each page of the day's edition, starting in 2008. Browse by date and page number or search for articles by keyword. Includes high-quality replications of photos, graphs, and tables. (Please note that full text is not available for the most recent 3 months.)

Free Websites

BauerFinancial
Bauer uses the same strict barometer to rate all banks and all credit unions and makes those ratings available to all people—for free—on its web site.
Bankrate
Bankrate is a personal finance company that guides people through pivotal steps of their financial journey. Whether you’re a recent college graduate searching for your first mortgage, or a retiree seeking effective ways to safely grow your savings, Bankrate provides accurate rate information, intuitive calculators and curated editorial content to help you reach your goals.
NerdWallet
NerdWallet is on a mission to provide clarity for all of life's financial decisions. Their tools and advice make it easy to expertly pay off debt, choose the best financial products and services (think credit cards and insurance) and tackle major life goals, like buying a house and saving for retirement.
Investopedia
Investopedia has made it their mission to simplify complex financial information and decisions for their readers, giving them the confidence to manage every aspect of their financial life.
Credit Karma
Everyone deserves to feel confident about their finances. Credit Karma provides some tools, education and opportunities you need to make real, meaningful progress.