From Ally to Accomplice: Talking Race, Anti-Racism, and Intersectionality: Learn More Online

Should the b in black, as a designation for people of African descent, be uppercase? Media outlets and other institutions are asking themselves that question these days, and many are answering in the affirmative. But the reasons given for why can sometimes be perplexing—in a way that reveals larger perplexities about the meaning of race.

A simple and accessible community resource for anyone curious or serious about conscious language. Conscious language = kind language + compassionate language + mindful language + empowering language + respectful language + inclusive language

Created by the Nesbitt-Johnston Writing Center at Hamilton College, this handout is an effort to help guide writers in the choice of acceptable language to use when writing about groups of people.

Includes full text of many articles from sources including magazinesj, newspapers, and academic journals, plus index entries for others. Subject areas covered include arts & literature, humanities, science, social science and many other specialties. Updated daily.

A collection of scholarly articles and primary source documents on African American history and culture. Includes books, speeches, letters, photographs, illustrations and audio clips.

A collection of scholarly articles and primary source documents covering American Indian history from the paleolithic to the present. Includes treaties, speeches, and captivity narratives as well as traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.

A searchable collection of billions of historical records from the USA and other countries. Get access to census and military records, birth, marriage and death records, and immigration records. (Available at public computers at all Brooklyn Public Library locations.) Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to library cardholders working remotely, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Ancestry

Collects African and African-American short stories and folktales published in more than 15 countries from the mid-1900s to the present. Includes full digitized runs of select literary magazines and black-owned journals and newspapers.

Collects published works by leading African American writers, spanning the 1700s to the present. Includes books, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets and letters.

Collects fiction, poetry and essays by black women published in Africa and the Americas from the 1700s to the present.

Discover Brooklyn history: Explore our collection of digitized Brooklyn content.

Searchable collection of Caribbean poems, plays, novels, short stories, and other materials from 1700 to the present. Works are in English, French, Haitian Creole, Spanish and Dutch.

Explore the lives of ordinary people around the world and throughout history. Research topics like food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.

Curated digital collections and exhibitions exploring race and ethnicity throughout American history. List created by Boston Public Library staff.

Customized selection of journals relating to Diversity Studies. From the New York State Online Virtual Library database collection.

Genealogical tool that includes U.S. Federal Census records,genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, Census data, slave schedules, maps, local history books and articles, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant application files, and the Freedman's Bank Records 1865-1874.

Scholarly articles and primary source documents covering Latino American history and culture from the 1400s to the present.

Learn a new language or brush up current skills. Contains 52 language learning courses including Arabic, Cantonese, Mandarin, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Brazilian Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Vietnamese as well as 17 English courses for speakers new to English. There is a mobile app to use to learn on the go and there are feature films to complement select courses.

Collection of streaming music from publisher Alexander Street Press. Not curated, but contains a collection on African-American music featuring recordings, scores, full-text books and biographies.

Freely accessible digital collections on New York History. Includes letters, diaries, photographs, newspapers, and maps from over 160 museums, libraries and archives.

Here is a list of readings that educators can use to broach conversations in the classroom about the horrendous events that unfolded in Charleston, South Carolina on the evening of June 17, 2015. These readings provide valuable information about the history of racial violence in this country and contextualize the history of race relations in South Carolina and the United States in general. They also offer insights on race, racial identities, global white supremacy and black resistance. All readings are arranged by date of publication. This list is not meant to be exhaustive–you will find omissions. Please check out the Charleston Syllabus book for additional reading suggestions.

#CharlottesvilleCurriculum: That’s the Twitter hashtag for educators, parents and anyone else looking for resources to lead discussions with young people about the violence that just erupted in Charlottesville, when white supremacists, neo-Nazis and Ku Klux Klan members marched and clashed with counterprotesters.

Building on the framework established by Chad Williams, Kidada Williams, and Keisha Blain, with their monumental #CharlestonSyllabus, Marcia Chatelain with #FergusonSyllabus and subsequent efforts from Candice Benbow with #LemonadeSyllabus and others who have sought to not only use social media and online technology to crowdsource and aggregate conversations, this syllabus represents an effort to bring together multiple conversations, histories, disciplines, discourses, and spaces.

We encourage all concerned about the injustices and inequities made evident by the recent events in Ferguson to join us as we dig deeper into understanding the multiplicity of factors that contribute to the criminalization and marginalization of black and brown communities. The following is a collection of research articles used to inform the arguments in the public statement on the events in Ferguson.

This syllabus project contributes to the already substantial work of the Sacred Stones Camp, Red Warrior Camp, and the Oceti Sakowin Camp to resist the construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline, which threatens traditional and treaty-guaranteed Great Sioux Nation territory. The pipeline violates the Fort Laramie Treaty of 1868 and 1851 signed by the United States, as well as recent United States environmental regulations.

Podcasts, books, articles, and other resources on the death penalty and prison and police abolition. Compiled by The Digital Abolitionist.

A meta-guide to lists, educator guides, and more, compiled by Brooklyn Public Library staff.

A project of the Augusta Baker Endowed Chair at the University of South Carolina, Dr. Nicole A. Cooke. Almost 200 resources for youth and adults at every level of learning.

This document was created to be used as a resource for anyone looking to broaden their understanding of anti-racism and get involved to combat racism, specifically as it relates to anti-Blackness and police violence.

This guide aims to provide Native American perspectives on the Dakota Access Pipeline, a 1,200 mile oil pipeline to be built through the land of the Standing Rock Sioux people and across the Missouri River which provides drinking water and water for agriculture for millions of Americans.

Monthly self paced, self priced learning collective, committed to celebrating and highlighting the genius of academics of colour. We have created an online learning platform rooted in providing resources and critical discourse to aid in unlearning. I believe that knowledge leads to action. The Great Unlearn platform is used to both provide education and inspire meaningful action. (Note: To access these resources, you must become a Patreon member.)

Books and other resources compiled by a Brooklyn Public Library educator to help families navigate conversations around race, unrest, and grief.

A resource guide with a rubric for learning how to become a better ally to the Black community on an ongoing basis.

In May 2016, following the release of Beyoncé’s visual album Lemonade, Candice Benbow created the #LemonadeSyllabus hashtag and social media campaign. With contributions from over 70 Black women, Candice released the syllabus as a free downloadable resource of over 250 works centered around the lives of Black women. Within the first week, it was downloaded over 40,000 times.

Books and other learning materials, petitions and action tools, and a gallery of African Americans killed by police, all compiled by a young Black Latina coder at New York University.

Resources and readings to better advocate for and support queer and trans BIPOC.

Links to curricula, including Project NIA's Transformative Justice: A Curriculum Guide.
Project NIA’s mission is to dramatically reduce the reliance on arrest, detention, and incarceration for addressing youth crime and to instead promote the use of restorative and transformative practices, a concept that relies on community-based alternatives. Through community education, participatory action research, advocacy and organizing, Project NIA facilitates the creation of community-focused responses to violence and crime.

A detailed listing of articles, books, films, learning tools, petitions, and much more for an "Antiracist Allyship Starter Pack."

In February 2017, Candice Benbow collaborated with The Elle.com Media Scholars at the Anna Julia Cooper Center at Wake Forest University, under the direction of Dr. Melissa Harris-Perry, to create the A Seat at the Table Syllabus (#SeatSyllabus) in response to Solange Knowles’ powerful album of the same name. The syllabus centered the voices of young women of color between the ages of 16 and 30.

Tools for learning and talking about race from the National Museum of African American History & Culture.

Teaching Tolerance provides free resources to educators—teachers, administrators, counselors and other practitioners—who work with children from kindergarten through high school. Educators use our materials to supplement the curriculum, to inform their practices, and to create civil and inclusive school communities where children are respected, valued and welcome participants.