Image Credit: Rembrandt, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons;
Image Credit: Dominik Skutetzky (Slovakian, 1850 - 1921), Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Image Credit: Shikeith, CC BY-SA 4.0 , via Wikimedia Commons www.shikeith.com
Connect with a Brooklyn Public Librarian via chat, email or phone!
Worthless Studio | 7 Knickerbocker Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11237 | Launched Fall 2023 | Three month residency | 5-6 young career artists working in sculpture or installation | Semi-private studio/fabrication space & stipend | Work only (no housing)
Smack Mellon | 92 Plymouth Street, Brooklyn NY | Twelve month program | Launched in 2000 | 6 early to mid-career artists working across all visual arts media | Fellowship availability subject to funding | 24/7 accessible private studio space | Work only (no housing)
The New York Art Residency and Studios (NARS) Foundation | Sunset Park, Brooklyn | Artist in Residency Program and fellowship supports emerging and mid-career artists and curators working across all disciplines | Three and six-month residencies | The program is open to both International and US-Based artists | Small stipend for US applicants, although there are out-of-pocket fees | Work only (no housing)
ArtBuilt Brooklyn Studios | Brooklyn Army Terminal | 140 58th Street, Building B-7G, Brooklyn, NY | Not a Residency perse | a 50,000 square foot affordable arts and arts business production space, with over 60 spaces and more than 100 working artists and businesses | email info@artbuilt.org for studio space inquiries
Lower Manhattan Cultural Council (LMCC) | Four different types of Artist Residencies | temporary spaces throughout lower Manhattan and the Arts Center on Governers Island | Artists in all disciplines welcome | open-call applications + nomination processes | Work only (no housing)
The Museum of Art and Design | Midtown Manhattan | A six-month cycled program | 3 artists and designers (2 residents and 1 fellow) have studios in the museum in order to dialogue with museum visitors during open hours | Includes studio space and stipend | Work only (no housing)
Flux Factory | Long Island City, NY | Studio space | Three, Six, Nine, or Twelve month occupancy | Monthly fees | Open to US and international culture producers | Work only (no housing)
Chashama's Space to Create | Waitlist Open | Studios throughout New York City, upstate New York and Matawan, New Jersey | Work only (no housing)
Open Jar Institute | Theater district, Broadway NYC | 8 week Residency Program for student integration when first moving to New York City (up to 22 years of age) | 1 week long Summer Intensive for both High School and College students | Includes housing
Movement Research | East Village, Manhattan | Movement Research hosts a range of Residency Programs for interdisciplinary and performance-based artists with a dynamic, interactive home base for inquiry, artistic research, and creative development.
The Clemente | Lower East Side, Manhattan | Micro Residencies for 1 week to 3 months | Dance & performance rehearsal space based out of Studio 406 (La Pizarra) with access to studio visits by visiting professionals | Work only (no housing)
The Elizabeth Foundation for the Arts | Midtown Manhattan | Six to Twelve months | Monthly studio fees | Partnership Residencies & International Artists residencies | Studio space and career development opportunities | Nonprofit organizations, governments and individuals may sponsor artists | Work only (no housing)
Amant NY Studio & Research Residency | East Williamsburg, Brooklyn | Fall and Spring residencies | 4 artists per cycle | Three month occupancy | Artists exploring archives and research practice | Monthly stipend & initial transportation coverage | Work only (no housing)
The Clemente | Lower East Side, Manhattan | the Studio Program Partnership initiative invites organizations (or artists in partnership with an organization, cultural institution, or government agency) to apply on a rolling basis with the Clemente | Two month to One Year recommended | Partner organizations responsible for artists visa, accommodations, living expenses where applicable | Work only (no housing)
HERE Artists in Residency Program (HARP)- HARP provides a commission, developmental support, career planning, and an opportunity for a full production to cross-genre artists within a collaborative environment of peers working across disparate art forms – including theatre, dance, music, puppetry, visual art, and new media. Each HARP artist receives significant long-term support of $125,000, which includes $50,000 in cash and more than $75,000 in equipment, space, and services over 2-3 years to tailor each residency to each artist’s individual needs. HARP's model is instituted nationally at various arts spaces, and also includes a digital and outdoor art production residency program called URHERE.
Print Center New York- Lists opportunities for print artists locally, nationally, and internationally.
Artist Communities Alliance- Connects artists with residencies locally, nationally and internationally | Provides directories, opportunities, programming, and resource/research help.
ArtConnect- A comprehensive database accessible at Library for Arts & Culture | List various art opportunities locally, nationally, and internationally | Searchable by location, art genre, deadline date
Berlin Art Link Berlin, Germany- Specific Art housing and studio spaces
Print Center New York-- Lists opportunities for print artists locally, nationally, and internationally.
Artist Communities Alliance- Connects artists with residencies locally, nationally and internationally |Provides directories, opportunities, programming, and resource/research help.
ArtConnect- A comprehensive database accessible at Library for Arts & Culture | List various art opportunities locally, nationally, and internationally | Searchable by location, art genre, deadline date
If you would like more information on the history of artists' spaces in NYC, check out the "History" tab above for links to articles.
The affordability and vacancy rates for some of these options can seem low when compared to the sheer number of NYC artists. But it's no surprise given the affordable housing crisis in NYC and beyond. It's still good to know about these resources, and to check them periodically for updates on pricing.
Word of mouth is still an essential part of anyone's toolbox when looking for art practice space, but this non-exhaustive guide, is a good place to start your search.
