LibGuides: Social Work & Wellness for The Arts: Social Work

Artist Advocacy

"Business, Computer, Mobile image" Pixabay

This comprehensive guide provides an exploration of a wide range of resources available to you, extending beyond the boundaries of our library to encompass a wealth of external sources as well. Whether you're seeking information, inspiration, or assistance, this guide is your gateway to a diverse array of tools and materials that can enrich your experience and support your endeavors.

Explore the boundless opportunities awaiting you, both within our library and in the broader community, as you embark on your journey of discovery and growth.

Be the Artist by Thomas Evans
Call Number: 700.23 E

ISBN: 9781682752487

Publication Date: 2020-02-11

This go-to guide can be your handbook as you enter the art world and navigate the nuances of becoming self-sufficient. Instead of feeding you new techniques, it will provide you with insights to help you make decisions based on your specific situation and goals.
Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
Call Number: 153.35 G

ISBN: 9781594634710

Publication Date: 2015-09-22

"A must read for anyone hoping to live a creative life... I dare you not to be inspired to be brave, to be free, and to be curious." --PopSugar From the worldwide bestselling author of Eat Pray Love and City of Girls: the path to the vibrant, fulfilling life you've dreamed of.
How to Survive and Prosper As an Artist by Caroll Michels
Call Number: 706.8 M

ISBN: 9781621536130

Publication Date: 2018-04-10

Written for fine artists ready to launch their careers as well as experienced artists who wish to relaunch their careers, How to Survive and Prosper as an Artist, Seventh Edition, an acclaimed guide, empowers artists to take control of their careers to create a fulfilling life and earn a decent income.
Marking Time by Nicole R. Fleetwood
Call Number: 704.0869 F

ISBN: 9780674919228

Publication Date: 2020-04-28

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award A Smithsonian Book of the Year A New York Review of Books "Best of 2020" Selection A New York Times Best Art Book of the Year An Art Newspaper Book of the Year A powerful document of the inner lives and creative visions of men and women rendered invisible by America's prison system.
Seeking Wisdom by Julia Cameron
Call Number: 204.33 C

ISBN: 9781250809377

Publication Date: 2022-01-11

Julia Cameron returns to the spiritual roots of the Artist's Way in this 6-week Program Author Julia Cameron changed the way the world thinks about creativity when she first published The Artist's Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity thirty years ago.
Daily Rituals by Mason Currey (Editor)
Call Number: 700.922 C

ISBN: 9780307273604

Publication Date: 2013-04-23

More than 150 inspired--and inspiring--novelists, poets, playwrights, painters, philosophers, scientists, and mathematicians on how they subtly maneuver the many (self-inflicted) obstacles and (self-imposed) daily rituals to get done the work they love to do. Franz Kafka, frustrated with his living quarters and day job, wrote in a letter to Felice Bauer in 1912, "time is short, my strength is limited, the office is a horror, the apartment is noisy, and if a pleasant, straightforward life is not possible then one must try to wriggle through by subtle maneuvers."

The Brooklyn Public Library provides some social services either by appointment or drop-in hours.

Access NYC
Provides listings and eligibility information for human service benefit programs offered by City, State, and Federal government agencies.
BPL Housing-Resources Libguide
This guide provides access to books, databases, websites, and other information related to housing. Use the tabs towards the top of the page to go to the relevant section.
Creativebug
Creativebug is a video-learning site for art and craft classes. New classes from top artists are released every day, with instructors bringing a lifetime of practice and proven teaching methods. Public Performance Rights are included for programming.

more... less...

Interested in becoming a Creativebug Instructor? Brooklyn Public Library is partnering with the Creativebug editorial team to recruit Brooklyn-based creators and artists, particularly those who can help increase the diversity and representation of Creativebug's course catalog. Apply here: https://cbug.tv/BecomeAnInstructor
Creative Commons
Creative Commons searches openly licensed and public domain images. Search for works that are available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing.
Housing and Urban Development
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development assists in finding subsidized apartments in New York State.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning offers more than 16,000 online courses in seven languages, hosted by expert instructors with real-world experience. Courses on LinkedIn Learning include Leadership, Project Management, Mental Wellness, Job Hunting, Digital Marketing, Data Science, 3D Animation, and CAD.
NY Housing Resources
Main page
Page Flippers
Meet Rafael, a ten-year-old kid living in Brooklyn. He loves drawing, doing the Rubik's cube, and playing cello. When Rafael joins the Page Flipper Club, he gets to interview the bassist with The Roots and save the day by helping a pigeon find her way out of the library!
Social Worker - Appointment Form
The Social Work Program provides social support referrals and benefits assistance at Public Library by appointment. Social work support and referrals are available for:
Housing Assistance
Food Assistance
Employment Assistance
Health Insurance Assistance
Mental Health/Counseling Referral

ArtBridge
We seek to place artists at the center of public life, while prioritizing exhibitions that amplify the voices, cultures, and histories of local communities.
Backline
A non-profit that connects music industry professionals and their families with mental health and wellness resources. We are building a safer and more supported music industry by connecting our community with quality mental health care resources that understand this line of work.
Comunilife
Support New York City’s Latino community and provide services that incorporated the culture and the language of our clients.
Housing Works
We address the needs of tens of thousands of low-income New Yorkers each year. We are committed to the framework of harm reduction. Our programs are innovative, holistic, and empowering.
Entertainment Community Fund
Our free programs and services are built to address the unique needs of people working in the performing arts and entertainment community
Safe Horizon
Safe Horizon’s mission is to provide support, prevent violence and promote justice for victims of crime and abuse, their families and communities.
WomanKind
Womankind uses the multidimensionality of its Asian heritage to work alongside survivors of gender-based violence as they build a path to healing.
MusiCares
MusiCares helps the humans behind music because music gives so much to the world.
STOOPS
STooPS connects the neighborhood with a big ol' block party, classes, and opportunities for artistic expression in unconventional spaces.

Big Reuse
We offer a diverse mix of goods, from new to used to vintage, whether it’s building materials and appliances, our wide array of furniture, or our bookstore, known for its selection of interesting titles and authors.
Brooklyn Free Clinic
Brooklyn Free Clinic’s mission is to augment existing health programs by expanding coverage to the uninsured and networking with other institutions to improve health care delivery.
FreeCycle
This website allows users to post items they're looking to give away or to find. While there's a general "NYC" tag, there are also sections for more specific locations, including Roosevelt Island , Brooklyn and Manhattan.
Materials for the Arts
Is New York City's premier creative reuse center, which provides NYC arts nonprofits, public schools and City agencies with access to free materials.
Project Dignity
New York Common Pantry reduces hunger while promoting dignity, health and self-sufficiency.
WhyHunger
The WhyHunger Hotline refers people in need across the U.S. to food pantries, soup kitchens, summer meals sites, government nutrition programs and grassroots organizations, especially those that provide access to nutritious foods and nutritional support services.

Social Work & Wellness for The Arts

Who We Are

Contact the Library!