Glow & Grow: Beauty Entrepreneurship Essentials: Building a Beauty Brand

Check out our How to Research Your Competitors, How to Research Your Industry, and How to Research Your Target Customer guides for more information. 

Key Steps

• Research using the resources provided in the Beauty Industry Research page of this guide to:
  • Analyze industry trends and consumer behavior.
  • Research competitors to identify gaps and opportunities.
  • Determine your target audience and their needs.

Check out our Business Model guide for more information. 

Key Steps

• Create your business model with the assistance of a business consultant.

  • Pace University Small Business Development Center (SBDC) is offering weekly, free, in-person one-to-one business advisement by appointment every Thursday at Brooklyn Public Library’s Business & Career Center! Get help on access to financing, marketing and sales strategies, government procurement, and business planning. These business advisement sessions are available to existing for-profit businesses and aspiring entrepreneurs. They do not provide assistance to nonprofits (see SCORE NYC instead) or cannabis based businesses (see Business Solutions Brooklyn Center instead). To see a schedule of upcoming sessions, visit: bit.ly/BPLSBDC. To contact Pace SBDC, call 212.618.6655 or email sbdc@pace.edu

    • To make an appointment for a free one-to-one session, sign up and complete the online counseling request using the new SBDC eCenter system, NYSBDC eCenter Direct.
      • You will be prompted to create an account user name and password in order to complete your counseling request.
      • In the “Area of Assistance” section please indicate that you would like to schedule an in-person session at the Brooklyn Public Library, the date you are requesting, and what you would like assistance with.
      • After your account is created and counseling request submitted, an SBDC counselor will be in touch to confirm your appointment date and time.
  • Search here for more business advisement services.
• Choose a business structure (sole proprietorship, LLC, corporation, etc.).
  • Attend a Virtual One-on-One Legal Clinic with NELP 

    • City Bar Justice Center’s Neighborhood Entrepreneur Law Project (NELP) partners with the Brooklyn Public Library Business & Career Center and the Pace SBDC to offer virtual small business legal clinics. These clinics, conducted by NELP, are an opportunity for entrepreneurs to meet with a team of pro bono attorneys to discuss legal issues related to their small businesses, such as intellectual property rights, contracts/agreements, business structure and incorporation, commercial leasing and more. Click here for future clinic dates and programming. 

      To contact the Neighborhood Entrepreneur Law Project, call 212.382.6633 or email nelp@nycbar.org

• Define your revenue model (direct-to-consumer, retail, subscription, etc.).
  • • Use the BPL LinkedIn Learning resource and search "revenue models" to learn more.
• Determine pricing strategy and profit margins.
  • How to Price Your Product: A Step-by-Step Calculation

Check out our Business Planning guide for more information.

Key Steps

• Executive summary and company description.
• Market analysis and competitor research.
• Product offerings and branding strategy.
• Financial projections and funding plan.
• Marketing and sales strategies.

Explore BPL's Funding a Small Business guide.

For Product-Based Businesses

• Check FDA Cosmetics regulations (for cosmetics and skincare).
  • Modernization of Cosmetics Regulation Act of 2022
  • Guidance & Regulation
  • Registration & Listing
  • International Activities
  • Labeling
  • Products & Ingredients
  • Science & Research
  • Compliance & Enforcement
• Ensure compliance with Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP).
  • Facts about the Current Good Manufacturing Practice (CGMP)
  • Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) Resources

For Service-Based Businesses

• Cosmetology
  • Cosmetology - NYS Department of State
• Esthetics
  • Esthetics - NYS Department of State
• Massage Therapy
  • Massage Therapy - NYS Education Department

For Beauty Education & Content Creation

• Coaching & Consulting

  • While coaching does not require formal certification, obtaining credentials (such as ICF for coaching) can add credibility.

  • Register as a professional consultant, if applicable.

• Beauty Education & Content Creation

  • Copyright or trademark your educational materials if necessary.

  • Secure licensing if using third-party beauty education materials.

For Beauty Retail & Distribution

• Obtain resale permits and business licenses for product sales.

• Ensure compliance with consumer product regulations (if private labeling).

Explore sources for beauty product packaging, ingredients, and contract manufacturers and private label suppliers.

• Research contract manufacturers or private label suppliers.
• Get samples and refine formulations.
• Ensure your lab follows regulatory compliance (FDA, EU standards, etc.).

Consult with your lab to:

• Conduct stability and shelf-life testing.
• Perform dermatological or clinical testing, ship testing, and environmental testing (if necessary).
• Ensure compliance with international cosmetic regulations, if applicable.

• Select packaging materials (research sustainable and accessible solutions, etc.).
• Ensure labeling compliance (ingredient lists, claims, barcodes).
• Work with designers to create compelling product aesthetics.

Key Steps

• Place first production order.
• Set up warehousing and fulfillment logistics.
• Implement quality control measures.

Explore BPL's The Salemans's Guide database to source retail buyers. 

Key Steps

• Decide on direct-to-consumer (DTC), retail partnerships, or wholesale.
• Apply to sell on platforms like Amazon, Sephora Accelerate, or Ulta Beauty.
• Establish relationships with beauty boutiques and department stores.

Explore BPL databases like Reference Solutions and SimplyAnalytics for location research and review suppliers through. Review supplies from vendors like Cosmo Prof and Pure Spa Direct. 

Key Steps

• Find a physical location and secure leases.
• Purchase salon/spa equipment and supplies.
• Partner with product suppliers for in-house retail sales.

Key Steps

• Define a customer journey: From booking services or courses to post-service follow-ups.
• Implement booking & payment systems: Use tools like Vagaro, Mindbody, Acuity Scheduling, or Shopify (for retail).
• Develop loyalty programs: Offer memberships, subscription plans, or exclusive access for repeat customers.

Key Steps

• Choose a POS system: (Square, Clover, Shopify, or Stripe).
• Implement client management software: CRM tools like HubSpot, HoneyBook, or Fresha for spas/salons.
• Track finances & expenses: Use QuickBooks, Wave, or FreshBooks.

Setup your digital platforms. Search "how to create a website" or " ecommerce platform" in BPL's LinkedIn Learning platform. 

Key Steps

• Set up a professional home office or virtual workspace.
• Use platforms like Teachable, Kajabi, or Thinkific for online courses.

Key Steps

• Define a customer journey: From booking services or courses to post-service follow-ups.
• Implement booking & payment systems: Use tools like Vagaro, Mindbody, Acuity Scheduling, or Shopify (for retail).
• Develop loyalty programs: Offer memberships, subscription plans, or exclusive access for repeat customers.

Key Steps

• Choose a POS system: (Square, Clover, Shopify, or Stripe).
• Track finances & expenses: Use QuickBooks, Wave, or FreshBooks.

Explore BPL databases like Reference Solutions and SimplyAnalytics for location research and review suppliers through. Review supplies from vendors like New York Cosmetics, BeautyJoint, and BeautyTrade.

Key Steps

• Find a physical location and secure leases.
• Purchase salon/spa equipment and supplies.
• Partner with product suppliers for in-house retail sales.

Key Steps

• Define a customer journey: From booking services or courses to post-service follow-ups.
• Implement booking & payment systems: Use tools like Vagaro, Mindbody, Acuity Scheduling, or Shopify (for retail).
• Develop loyalty programs: Offer memberships, subscription plans, or exclusive access for repeat customers.

Key Steps

• Choose a POS system: (Square, Clover, Shopify, or Stripe).
• Implement client management software: CRM tools like HubSpot, HoneyBook, or Fresha for spas/salons.
• Track finances & expenses: Use QuickBooks, Wave, or FreshBooks.

Search "creating a website", "ecommerce", "social media marketing", and email marketing in BPL's LinkedIn Learning platform. 

Key Steps

• Secure a domain and create a website with e-commerce functionality.
• Set up social media accounts (Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest).
• Start building an email marketing list.

Explore databases like Cision, Winmo, and Muck Rack to source media and pr contacts.

Key Steps

• Develop a content marketing plan (blogs, videos, tutorials).
• Partner with influencers, beauty bloggers, and PR agencies.
• Utilize paid advertising (Facebook Ads, Google Ads, influencer sponsorships).
• Host a pre-launch campaign with exclusive offers.
• Secure media coverage and press releases.
• Host online or in-person launch events.

• Introduce new product variations or collections.
• Explore international expansion or retail partnerships.
• Invest in brand collaborations and limited-edition drops.

• Pace University Small Business Development Center (SBDC) is offering weekly, free, in-person one-to-one business advisement by appointment every Thursday at Brooklyn Public Library’s Business & Career Center! Get help on access to financing, marketing and sales strategies, government procurement, and business planning. These Business Advisement sessions are available to existing small businesses and aspiring entrepreneurs. To see a schedule of upcoming sessions, visit: bit.ly/BPLSBDC. To contact Pace SBDC, call 212.618.6655 or email sbdc@pace.edu
  • To make an appointment for a free one-to-one session, sign up and complete the online counseling request using the new SBDC eCenter system, NYSBDC eCenter Direct.
    • You will be prompted to create an account user name and password in order to complete your counseling request.
    • In the “Area of Assistance” section please indicate that you would like to schedule an in-person session at the Brooklyn Public Library, the date you are requesting, and what you would like assistance with.
    • After your account is created and counseling request submitted, an SBDC counselor will be in touch to confirm your appointment date and time.
• Other Business Assistance Providers

Book a Librarian

Let a BPL librarian be your personal guide to our vast collection of highquality information and online resources.

Do you need help researching a project, finding business information, or using library databases? Submit your question online at 
www.bklynlibrary.org/balrequest You will be contacted to set up a virtual appointment or receive a set of resources. Visit www.bklynlibrary.org/bal for more information.