Skip to main content

How to Research Your Target Customer: Learning Resources

Consumer Research Database

Why is researching your consumer important?
Researching your consumer can help you: identify and locate your customer; adjust your market strategy; and help you construct a profile of your customer.

How can our resources help?
By using our resources you can find market research reports, trend reports, company and industry profiles, reference books, sample business plans and almost everything else you will need to help you identify and research your consumer.

What else can the Business and Career Center do for you? 
The Learning Resources can be found through the Libraries website and can be accessed with the Laptops in the Business and Career Center. These laptops are available for loan using your Brooklyn Public Library card. Review the laptop loan policy below for more information. Do not hesitate to ask for help or suggestions from the librarian in the center.  
You can also make an appointment online for one-on-one research help. To find out more about our Book a Librarian service, click here.

Learning Resources with Remote Access

All of these resources can be accessed from home using your Brooklyn Public Library card and your 4 digit PIN. Either follow these links or go to https://www.bklynlibrary.org/online-resources/list to see the full list of our resources.

This resource is currently accessible from anywhere with your Brooklyn Public Library card or eCard
This database compiles articles from trade journals, newspapers, and other pertinent sources. Using a keyword or advanced search, you can find articles about consumers and consumer trends in your industry.

This resource is currently accessible from anywhere with your Brooklyn Public Library card or eCard
This resources has multiple volumes from series like Best Customers, Household Spending and Who's Buying that can be used to find demographic characteristics of individuals and households. All the data comes from the quarterly reports from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey and since we have volumes of each series that cover multiple years you can track consumer spending patterns over time.

This resource is currently accessible from anywhere with your Brooklyn Public Library card or eCard
There is a section of Mergent Intellect called "Demographics" that can help you research your customers. You can see packaged reports of the demographic and psychographic characteristics of locations down to the ZIP code level. These descriptions include Nielsen PRIZM segments and you can compare up to four locations at a time.

This resource is currently accessible from anywhere with your Brooklyn Public Library card or eCard
The "U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles" database in ReferenceUSA can be used to find target consumers based on lifestyle choices, demographic characteristics, and geography. This tool can be used to construct lists of target customers or to determine the area(s) with the greatest density of your target customer.

This resource is currently accessible from anywhere with your Brooklyn Public Library card or eCard
There are a number of useful sources on target marketing and market research that can help you find your consumer.

This resource is currently accessible from anywhere with your Brooklyn Public Library card or eCard
This website contains reports called dossiers, topics, and infographics that cover consumer expenditures and consumer behavior, including digital markets. 

This resource is currently accessible from anywhere with your Brooklyn Public Library card or eCard
SimplyAnalytics is a tool that allows you to make detailed maps, tables, and rankings based on a number of different variables and geographies. These variables include Nielsen data, consumer expenditures, and demographic information.

Learning Resources only available at the Brooklyn Public Library

All of these resources can ONLY be accessed on a Brooklyn Public Library computer at the Central Library or at one of our branch locations. More details about each of these resources will be listed in their individual descriptions.

This database has articles from thousands of news and trade publications that contain information about target customers and consumer behavior. It also contains market research reports from sources like Marketline that cover customer information in a number of industries. This database is ONLY accessible on the computers at the Central Library.

These are packaged reports on different industry sectors, themes, and consumer demographic groups. Mintel analyzes a variety of sources in addition to conducting interviews with target consumers when compiling its reports. Mintel Reports Academic are ONLY accessible on the computers at the Central Library, and these reports cannot be downloaded.

Sports Market Analytics is currently unavailable. We are working to resolve this issue as soon as possible and apologize for any inconvenience.
The Sports Business Research Network, or SBRnet, has detailed information about the the consumers, the participants, and the fans an a wide array of sports and leisure activities.This database is ONLY accessible on the computers at the Central Library.