LibGuides: Business Planning Guide: Business Plans

What is a Business Plan?

A business plan is not a static document that you write once, and writing a business plan doesn't automatically guarantee success. On the other hand, a business plan will allow you to set targets for your business and to communicate your strategy and vision for your team. It also gives you a framework to evaluate your strategy and your financials and determine whether you need to make any changes. Writing a business plan also gives you document to show banks and other potential sources of financing that your business is viable, and a solid plan can also help you negotiate favorable rates from banks and investors. The video below was created by Bplans.com, and explains this in greater detail.

"Creating a Business Plan" Video Course

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to a database of full length video courses called LinkedIn Learning. There is a "Become a Small Business Owner" Learning Path with several video courses on starting a business. One of these courses is "Creating a Business Plan," and this course also has downloadable exercise files so that you can work along with the course.

Books and eBooks

There are several books and eBooks in the library catalog on how to write a business plan. In addition to our general business planning books, we also have several books on how to start a business in a particular industry, and these books also cover how to write a business plan. Click the Subject Headings below to find our general business plan writing books and eBooks.

Business Planning

Small Business

Planning

Several of the books and eBooks on how to start a business in a particular industry in the Library Catalog or either from the Home-Based Business Series or Entrepreneur Magazine's start up series. Click the series links below to see if there is a book on your industry or search for other titles by keyword searching "how to start a" and keywords about your type of business.

"Home Based Business Series"

"Entrepreneur Magazine's Start Up"

Immigrant Business Resources

BUILDING YOUR BUSINESS IN NEW YORK CITY: A Guide for Immigrant Entrepreneurs
This guide offers step-by-step advice for immigrant entrepreneurs planning, launching, or growing a small business. Topics include: signing a commercial lease, navigating government, and understanding the rights of immigrant New Yorkers. Developed by SBS in partnership with Citi Community Development
YOUR BUSINESS, YOUR FUTURE!: A Basic Guide to Launching a Business for Immigrant Entrepreneurs
This guide has been developed for all aspiring and current immigrant entrepreneurs, regardless of immigration status, to help you understand your options for starting and operating your own business in New York State. This guide is provided as an overview and includes information to help you decide which type of business structure is right for you, what the requirements are for forming your business and some of the fees and taxes to expect so that you can stay open for business.

Business Plans Handbook

A great way to start a business plan is to look at business plans that have been written by entrepreneurs or small business owners in your industry. For years, Gale has compiled actual business plans written by actual business people across North America into a publication called the "Business Plans Handbook." All of these business plans are accessible remotely with your library card and PIN through the learning resources listed below.

Other Sample Business Plans

Bplans.com
Bplans.com has over 500 sample business plans from businesses in a variety of different industries. These plans can be searched categorically or by keyword.
Business Plan Index from the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh has made a categorical index of sample business plans. Most of these plans come from the Business Plans Handbook and Bplans.com, but they also list sample business plans from additional websites and some plans that are included in books.

Business Plan Templates

Bplans.com Business Plan Template
Bplans.com has a business plan template that can be downloaded as a word document. According to them, this template has been used by over 500,000 businesses and has been approved by universities such as Princeton and Babson.
SBA's Build Your Business Plan Tool
The U.S. Small Business Administration, or SBA, has created a step-by-step tool for building, editing, and downloading your business plan. Once you register with the SBA, you can edit all of the sections of your plan, save them, update them, and export them to PDF files.
SCORE Business Plan Template
SCORE, which stands for the Service Corps of Retired Executives, has created a downloadable business plan template that includes instructions and fillable worksheets for each section.

Learning Resources

Gale Virtual Reference Library
The entire Business Plans Handbook series is available in the Business Collection in the Gale Virtual Reference Library, and it can be searched by keyword once you open the series. There are also several eBooks on business planning in the Business Collection that can be accessed remotely 24/7 without having to be checked out.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
The entire Business Plans Handbook is also available in Gale Business: Entrepreneurship. You can browse the Business Types to see if your industry is listed, or you can use a keyword search such as "food truck" if your business type is not listed. One of the options of this search on the right hand side will be Business Plans, and these are the plans from the Business Plans Handbook.
Gale Business: Plan Builder This link opens in a new window
A step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit; the Gale Business: Plan Builder dashboard walks users through five areas of exploration to develop a business plan focused on long-term success.